Best Fiction Award San Francisco Writers Conference

I’m thrilled to announce that my Napoleon novel won the Best Fiction Award at the San Francisco Writers Conference. I’d submitted the first twenty-five pages of my manuscript several weeks ago and knew it had placed as a top ten finalist. It was a wonderful surprise to have it chosen as winner.

This past weekend the tenth annual conference attracted hundreds of writers, literary agents, editors, and publishing professionals. It was a non-stop, energy-filled event. In addition to meeting potential agents for my novel, I attended seminars on the writing craft, the publishing industry, and book marketing.

Keynote speakers (shown below) included R.L. Stine of Goosebumps fame with over 300,000,000 (!) books sold; Guy Kawasaki, an Apple Fellow, venture capitalist and self-published author; and Anne Perry, best-selling author of two historical detective series with over 26,000,000 books sold. Quite a line-up.

A big thank you to the contest judges and convention organizers!



  • Helen
    February 19, 2013 - 4:30 am | Permalink

    Congratulations! You are incredible and I am so excited for you. Napoleon is a lucky guy to have you spending so much time with him and telling a compelling story about him. Eager to read it. Let’s celebrate soon!

  • Tencie
    February 26, 2013 - 1:38 pm | Permalink

    Congrats. Can’t wait to read it. There isn’t enough written about Napoleon. I started on the subject with Desiree at age 12 and am still going strong.

  • mrodenberg
    February 26, 2013 - 3:20 pm | Permalink

    Thanks! I’m working on it. Like you, I never get bored reading about Napoleon.

  • Victor Blair
    February 28, 2013 - 2:21 pm | Permalink

    Congrats on your writing ability… Looking forward to acquiring your book… Have you a date yet?

    Victor Blair.

  • mrodenberg
    March 1, 2013 - 12:03 pm | Permalink

    Thanks, Victor. Unfortunately, I don’t have a publisher yet, but the manuscript is close to the point where I’ll be looking for one.

  • Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Copyright © 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 Margaret Rodenberg